The five presidential aspirants on the platform of the All Progressives Congress, APC, yesterday signed a Letter of Commitment which compels them to remain in the party even after losing out in the primary election.

The undertaking also mandates them to collapse their individual campaign structures into that of the party for effective campaign of the eventual flag bearer of the party in the 2015 general election.

The aspirants who included former Head of State, Gen. Mohammadu Buhari, former Vice President Atiku Abubakar, governors of Kano and Imo states, Dr. Rabiu Kwankwaso and Chief Rochas Okorocha, and the publisher of Leadership Newspaper, Sam Nda-Isaiah were further barred from taking any action that would put inhibitions on the campaign wheels of the party.

Chairman of the APC Presidential Screening Committee, Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu, spoke of the development at a ceremony at the party’s national secretariat in Abuja to present Certificate of Clearance to the aspirants who successfully underwent a screening session on Tuesday.

Onu said: “We told the press earlier that our aspirants will sign a letter of commitment to the party. I am happy to announce to you that all of them, all the five aspirants were very happy to sign these letters of commitment.
“That commitment is principally to assure the party that there is none of them running for themselves. They are running to offer service to improve on the well-being of our people to bring happiness to Nigerians, to foster unity and bring peace and secure our country.”
Only one person will fly our flag. They have all agreed that whoever flies our flag, the other aspirants will support him. This is something integral to the party.