Just In: Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly Reconvenes, Suspends 11 Lawmakers (standing committees dissolved)

The Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly led by the New Speaker, Rt. Hon. (Sir) Nse Ntuen reconvened today.

Members of the House who were at the plenary condemned the impunity unleashed by the former speaker, Rt. Hon. Onofiok Luke last week Monday.

The House moved a motion to suspend the following lawmakers: Onofiok Luke, Udo Kerian Akpan, Felicia Bassey, Nse Essien, Lawrence Udofia, Usoro Akpanusoh, Ime Okon, Friday Iwok, Asuquo Archibong, Mark Esset, Emmanuel Ekpenyong, Aniekan Uko till further notice.

The House also dissolved all standing committees constituted illegally by the former speaker. Committees to be reconstituted headed by the Honourable Speaker, Rt. Hon. Nse Ntuen and adjourned till Tuesday 4th, December, 2018.